PowerPlay Ontario Review 2026: Legal, Lean, Hockey-First
Support
- Betting Tools
- Software Providers

PowerPlay is a legally registered Ontario sportsbook and casino, run by Trillium Ventures Limited under AGCO registration OPIG1242190. We found a hockey-first book with real depth – 200-plus markets on a headline game, round robin, same game parlays and cash out – a $10 minimum on every payment method, and support published in full on chat, email and phone, 24/7.
How We Checked PowerPlay
This review is built on primary sources only. We read PowerPlay’s own Ontario pages, its public support portal, its legal footer, both app-store listings and the provincial register.
Is PowerPlay Legal in Ontario?
Yes. PowerPlay is run by Trillium Ventures Limited under AGCO registration OPIG1242190, with an operating agreement with iGaming Ontario.
The public register lists it as “Trillium Ventures Limited (dba) PowerPlay”, website on.powerplay.com, in both the casino and the sports betting categories.
Trillium Ventures is a Maltese company, registration C101764, based in St. Julian’s. That is normal here. Ontario regulates the Ontario-facing operation, not where the parent is incorporated.
Two things follow. Your balance is in Canadian dollars only. And you must be 19 or older and physically in Ontario to place a bet.
PowerPlay Sports Betting
The sportsbook is the reason to be here. It is built around hockey and the North American majors, then widens into a long alphabetical list of everything else.
Navigation is simple. A top rail carries the sports, and each sport opens on three tabs: Featured, In-Play and All. On the desktop site a second bar shortcuts straight to Bet Live, Basketball, Hockey, Baseball and Soccer.

Which Sports You Can Bet On
The rail opens with the sports Ontario actually bets on, in this order: Basketball, Ice Hockey, Baseball, Soccer, Tennis and Football.
After that it turns alphabetical and keeps going: Alpine Skiing, Aussie Rules, Badminton, Beach Volleyball, Biathlon, and onwards through the list. PowerPlay’s own app listing also names golf among the featured sports.
The coverage is not limited to the big leagues either. Alongside the NBA cards we found MPBL games from the Philippines priced live, which tells you the feed goes deeper than the marquee names.
Hockey is where the branding points. The company is the official betting partner of the Ottawa Black Bears, and the app leads with the NHL calendar.
Betting Markets and How They Are Priced
Every pre-match card shows the same three core markets, side by side:
Behind those three sits the full market list. On the NBA games we looked at, the card advertised +202 and +211 additional markets on a single fixture. That is a deep book by Ontario standards, and it is where the player props live.
Odds are shown in decimal format – 1.45, 1.88, 2.75. Canadian bettors who prefer American odds should check the display setting first, because decimal is what PowerPlay leads with.
Settlement rules are stated on the selection itself. A spread reads “Spread (+3.5) – Result (inc overtime)”, so you know overtime counts before you confirm. Small thing, but a lot of books hide it.
The Bet Slip: Straight, Parlay and Round Robin
The slip has three modes, which is one more than most Ontario apps offer.
Round Robin is the one worth knowing about. It breaks a list of picks into several small parlays, so one wrong leg does not wipe the whole ticket. It costs more in stake and it is genuinely useful.
The slip also carries an Accept any odds change toggle. Leave it off and a price move will pause your bet instead of taking the new number. We would leave it off.
Totals are shown in CA$ throughout, with the potential payout calculated as you type the stake.

Same Game Parlays and Player Props
Same game parlays are built in. Eligible fixtures carry an SGP badge on the card, and you combine legs from that single game in the normal slip rather than in a separate screen.
Player props sit inside the extended market list on each fixture. With 200-plus markets on a headline NBA game, the depth is there for points, rebounds and assists lines.
Live Betting and Cash Out
In-Play has its own tab on the rail, with a live counter on it. When we looked, it was carrying 59 live events.
Live cards show the clock and the score – a basketball game read Q4 with the score at 91-58 – plus a link to the extra in-running markets on that game.
Cash out is available. It appears as a marked button on the selection inside the slip, so you can settle a bet early rather than ride it out. PowerPlay does not publish which markets are eligible.
One caveat the operator states itself: “Live scores and multimedia content may be subject to delays.” And we found no live video streaming advertised anywhere PowerPlay publishes – the in-play screen we saw shows the clock and the score, not a feed. Treat it as a tracker, not a broadcast.
PowerPlay Casino
Casino and sportsbook share one account and one balance. You switch between them from the bottom bar, with no separate wallet and no transfer step.
The lobby is organised into four tabs – Top Lists, Live Casino, New Games and Table Games – with a search box on top.

Slots and Jackpots
PowerPlay’s own listing says over 1,000 games. Its Ontario website says 1,500+. We report both, because the operator has not reconciled them.
The rows are the familiar ones: Popular Slots, Megaways Games, Live Blackjack, Live Roulette. In the lobby we saw Big Bass Bonanza, a Cai Shen title and Dog House Muttley Crew, plus Megaways versions of Big Wizard, Sky Queen and Leprechaun’s Luck.
Live Dealer Games
Live tables run 24/7 and have their own tab in both the lobby and the main site menu.
Blackjack and roulette carry the deepest rows, including Bet Behind tables for when every seat is taken.
Software Providers
Pragmatic Play is the clearest presence – it is branded on most of the popular slots and on several live blackjack tables. Playtech content is there too, recognisable from the Real Series Classics and Cash Collect titles.
Golden Rock Studios is named in PowerPlay’s own app listing, and Casumba appears in the site footer.
That is a modest supplier list next to the largest Ontario casinos. It covers the mainstream well and it will feel thin if you hunt for specific studios.
Payment Methods
PowerPlay’s cashier needs a caveat before it needs a number, and it is not a small one. The support portal PowerPlay links from its site is shared with its non-Ontario operation. When we first reviewed the brand that portal carried sections headed “Ontario Customers” and “Ontario Registered”. Those sections are gone. Across all 74 pages of the portal today the word Ontario does not appear once, the withdrawal instructions point to powerplay.com rather than the Ontario site, and the portal documents Skrill, Neteller, ecoPayz and cryptocurrency deposits – none of which appear in the Ontario cashier.
So what follows is split in two: what the Ontario app actually showed us, and what the portal publishes without ever saying which market it is describing. Everything is quoted in Canadian dollars, which is the one thing the portal is explicit about.

Deposit Limits, Fees and Timing
The floor and the ceiling are the same on every method: a minimum of CAD 10 and a maximum of CAD 5,000 per transaction, which the portal says “applies to all the currency options available”. There is no per-method ceiling, and no deposit fee on anything – though paysafecard itself may charge you at the point of purchase.
| Method | Fees | Min deposit |
Max deposit |
Time |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
None | $10 | $5,000 | Up to 1 hour |
![]() |
None | $10 | $5,000 | Instant |
![]() |
None | $10 | $5,000 | Instant |
![]() |
None | $10 | $5,000 | Instant |
![]() |
None | $10 | $5,000 | Instant |
That $5,000 ceiling is the number to plan around. It is the lowest per-transaction deposit limit of any operator in our Ontario set – bet365 allows $50,000 on a card – and it applies whether you pay by Interac, card or wallet.
Worth flagging: the in-app cashier shows four tiles, while the support portal lists five methods. MuchBetter is documented but was not on the deposit screen we saw. Check it is there before you rely on it.
Withdrawals
The portal is more forthcoming here than most, and it does publish a headline payout time: 0 to 4 hours during office hours, with a maximum of 24 hours. Office hours are stated too – weekdays 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ET, weekends 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ET – so a Saturday-evening request waits for Sunday lunchtime. First withdrawals and larger amounts are screened and take longer.
| Method | Min | Max | After approval |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() |
$10 | $3,000 per transaction, $3,000 per 24 hours | 1-3 business days after approval |
![]() |
$10 | $10,000 per transaction | Set by your card issuer |
![]() |
$10 | $10,000 per transaction | Set by your card issuer |
![]() |
$10 | $10,000 per transaction | Notified in the MuchBetter app |
![]() |
— | Deposit only | Prepaid, cannot pay out |
Three rules govern the whole thing, and they are the ones that catch people out:
- Two withdrawals per 24 hours, to a combined maximum of $20,000. Ask for more and support will tell you to split it.
- Interac is capped far lower than everything else – $3,000 per transaction and $3,000 per 24 hours, against $10,000 elsewhere. It is the cleanest route out and the most restricted.
- Closed loop, strictly. “Withdrawals can only be refunded to the payment method used to deposit”, and you cannot use a payout method you have never deposited with. paysafecard is prepaid, so money that comes in that way has to leave another way.
And unusually for an Ontario-facing book, the payout is not always free: the first withdrawal is free, subsequent ones are free above $100, and anything under $100 carries a 3% fee. Withdrawing $50 costs you $1.50.
The fee schedule and the 24-hour limits are dated 2021 and sit on a portal that no longer mentions Ontario. Treat them as the operator’s own published position rather than a provincial guarantee, and check the cashier screen before you commit – it is the only surface here that is definitely showing you Ontario.
The PowerPlay App
There is a native app for both platforms, in English and French, and it is genuinely maintained.
| Detail | iOS | Android |
|---|---|---|
| Rating | 3.78 / 5 | 3.8 / 5 |
| Ratings count | 93 | 77 |
| Current version | 25.6.1 | Not stated |
| Size | 57.7 MB | Not stated |
| Minimum OS | iOS 16 | Not stated |
| Age rating | 17+ | PEGI 18 |
The app was released on 24 April 2023 and last updated on 3 August 2026. That cadence matters more than the rating: someone is still working on it.
The combined score is 3.8 out of 5 across roughly 170 ratings. That is a small sample. It is not a red flag, but it is not a mandate either, and it sits below the Ontario leaders.
One inconsistency to note. Apple lists the app as 17+, while PowerPlay’s own terms require you to be 19+. The terms are what binds you.

Ontario Only: We Tested the Geo-Fence
We tried to open the site from outside the province. Access is blocked outright, with a page that reads “AVAILABLE IN ONTARIO ONLY”.
That is the correct behaviour and a good sign. It means the operator is enforcing the provincial boundary rather than quietly taking bets it should not.
Practical consequence: your account does not travel. Cross into Quebec or New York and the app stops taking bets until you are back.

Customer Support
PowerPlay runs a public support portal and publishes its contact details in full, before login. Three channels, staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
| Channel | Details | Hours |
|---|---|---|
| Live chat | In the support portal and on every page | 24/7 |
| ontario.support@powerplay.com | 24/7 | |
| Phone | +1 249 444 1331 | 24/7 |
PowerPlay recommends live chat for the fastest reply, and that matches the way the portal is built – the chat button sits in a fixed bar at the bottom of every page.
The email address is the one to use if you cannot log in or register, which is exactly when a live chat behind a login would be useless.
The self-service side is better than average too. The portal is organised by topic – Deposits, Withdrawals, Sports Betting, Casino, Account Information, Responsible Gaming – and the deposit articles are where the payment numbers in this review came from. It used to carry Ontario-specific sections as well; those have been removed, which is the caveat we set out in the payments section above.
For gambling help, which is a different thing from account help, Ontario funds its own free service. The details are at the end of this review.
Security and Reputation
The registration is the part that matters. If a dispute goes wrong, an AGCO-registered operator answers to a regulator in this province – not to a licensing body an ocean away.
Final Verdict
PowerPlay is a small book that gets the fundamentals right and documents more than we expected. The sportsbook is deeper than its size suggests, the cashier publishes its limits and its payout window in the open, and support is published in full.
| Category | Score | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Legal | 5.0 | Registered and correctly geo-fenced |
| Sports | 4.0 | 200+ markets a game, SGP, round robin, cash out |
| Casino | 3.5 | 1,000+ games and live tables, few suppliers |
| Payments | 4.0 | $10 minimum, no fees, limits published |
| App | 3.5 | Bilingual and updated; 3.8/5 on 170 ratings |
| Support | 4.5 | Chat, email and phone, 24/7, all published |
Overall we place PowerPlay at 4.0 out of 5 for Ontario bettors. It is safe, easy to navigate and more transparent than most books its size.
What holds it back is scale, not conduct. The casino supplier list is short, the app-store sample is thin, and the payment documentation is no longer written for this province.
Who it suits: hockey and Canadian sports bettors who want one app for sports and casino, funded by Interac, with a real phone number to call. Who it does not: line shoppers, live-streaming fans, and anyone moving more than $5,000 at a time, and anyone who wants payment terms written specifically for Ontario.
PowerPlay FAQs
- Is PowerPlay legal in Ontario?
Yes. PowerPlay is operated by Trillium Ventures Limited under AGCO registration OPIG1242190, with an operating agreement with iGaming Ontario. You must be 19 or older and physically in Ontario to bet.
- What is the minimum deposit at PowerPlay?
$10, on every payment method, and the maximum is CAD 5,000 per transaction – also on every method. PowerPlay charges no deposit fees. That $5,000 ceiling is the lowest per-transaction deposit limit of any operator we have reviewed in Ontario.
- How long do PowerPlay deposits take?
Interac e-Transfer takes up to one hour. Visa, Mastercard, MuchBetter and paysafecard are instant, according to PowerPlay’s own support portal. Withdrawals are processed in 0 to 4 hours during office hours, with a stated maximum of 24 hours.
- How do I contact PowerPlay customer support?
Live chat, email and phone, all 24/7. The email address is ontario.support@powerplay.com and the phone number is +1 249 444 1331. PowerPlay recommends live chat for the fastest reply.
- Does PowerPlay have cash out and same game parlays?
Yes to both. Cash out appears on eligible selections in the bet slip, and same game parlays are marked with an SGP badge on the fixture. There is a live game tracker but no live video streaming.
- Can I use PowerPlay outside Ontario?
No. We tested it: from outside the province the site refuses access with an “Available in Ontario only” page. Your account does not travel with you.
19+. Ontario only. Gambling can be addictive. Free, confidential help is available 24/7 from ConnexOntario: call 1-866-531-2600, text 247247, or visit connexontario.ca.
Alternatives to PowerPlay
If the short supplier list or the missing payout window is a dealbreaker, two other AGCO-registered, Canadian-focused books are the closest comparison: Bet99 and NorthStar Bets. Both are on the iGaming Ontario register and both run in CAD with Interac. If the missing payout window is the sticking point, TonyBet publishes a firm 48-hour target, while Betano carries nine payment methods with no fees on any of them.











